A Winter Rhyme

It’s that time of the year again.
I think I can hear me hum
An old Christmas carol
A friend once taught me some
And I can hear Jimmy croon
Silver bells, in every neighborhood lane
It’s that time of the year again.
It’s that time of the year again.
I love to walk on the snow
Besides the muffled people
By the shops all aglow
And I hear through the dreary cold
The faraway whistling train
It’s that time of the year again.
It’s that time of the year again.
I watch them as they shine
Dancing bright ornaments
Laid generously on the pine
When my eyes stop on the neon snowflakes
On the busy street main
It’s that time of the year again.
It’s that time of the year again.
I sit idly in the café by the corner
Waiting to get to the other side
Waiting for the days to get longer
I stare at the falling snow
Through the cold window pane
It’s that time of the year again.
It’s that time of the year again.
Somewhere deep inside my mind
I need to open a book
Because I have an answer to find
Before I begin another, I need to know
Has the last year been in vain?
It’s that time of the year again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Winter Rhyme

  1. Ajay says:

    Nice one..
    its that time of the year again…
    But more than fun snow..I can feel the winter pain !
    its that time of the year again…

  2. Madhura says:

    Beautiful! 🙂

  3. Nikhil K says:

    Beautiful poem. It brings back all the memories of a Minneapolis January. But wait, I am in the middle of one right now. :).
    Every new year reminds me of these lines. So does your poem.
    We shall not cease from exploration
    And the end of all our exploring
    Will be to arrive where we started
    And know the place for the first time.
    from Four Quartets, “Little Gidding” (1943)

Leave a Reply

