Maa Tujhe Salaam

I was returning from a fun filled trip to lake Tahoe and I heard Rehman lending his voice to his re-invention of the Indian national song, Vande Mataram. I blinked and flash….I saw my grandmother wearing a nine yard sari standing by our hundred year old ancestral home. Flash…A roadside juice stall where people were stopping to escape the scorching heat…Flash…My friends sitting on the Boat Club steps trying to figure out what our sweat-shirt should look like…Flash…a long queue at the passport office…Flash…a big saree shop in Chennai…Flash…Ganesh temple at Sarasbaug…Flash…the wind flowing furiously at the Tanaji cliff on Sinhagad…Flash…a cobbler at the corner waiting for a customer to come by…Flash… the tall buildings in the IT park…Flash…the mango tree my forefathers planted laden with over hundred mangoes …Flash…the campfire at Har-ki-dun on a full moon night ..Flash …the rangoli design I made at my doorstep on Divali…Flash…bike ride in Mahabaleshwar …Flash…the puddles en route to Sasken on a rainy day…Flash…our housemaid shouting on top of her voice to remind me of my forgotten lunch box…Flash…second class train travel to Delhi…Flash…dinner at the table with my family…Flash…the fishy smell on Ratnagiri beach…Flash…a gang of boys playing cricket on the road…Flash… the orange colored Ganapati idol at Ranjangaon …Flash…the white water gushing down Khadakvasla dam gates…Flash… the lush green fields on the roadside …Flaaaasssh…a brief whitewash in front of my eyes and then the tricolor flying high…
With every flicker of my eyelids I saw India as it stands now, with all the good and bad. I do love India a lot but I am not the overtly patriotic type who believes that India is the best. Yet, after that wonderful travel across Indian spaces and times, I actually felt like shouting “Maa tujhe Salaam” loudly and raising my hand up for a salute. It was surprising to see how one song can attach you back to where you belong. Rehman rocks this one and I am thankful to him for giving me those moments of ecstatic nostalgia.
Yahan vahan saara jahan dekh liya
Ab tak bhi tere jaisa koi nahin
Main assi nahin, sau din duniya ghooma hai
Naahi kaahe tere jaisa koi nahin
Main gaya jahan bhi, bas teri yaad thi
Jo mere saath thi mujhko tadpaati rulaati
Sab se pyaari teri soorat
Pyaar hai bas tera, pyaar hi
Maa tujhe salaam, maa tujhe salaam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maa Tujhe Salaam

  1. Nikhil K says:

    Praise on a Brilliant and vivid composition,Shruti! Kay kay tuzya bedki dolYnamage challa asata kunas thauk:P
    I was wondering on the same song last week, and I thought that some music has the power to reawaken hidden memories,or to create new ones if there aren’t any. Gives me the goosebumps, this song, wheneverI hear it. And I am puzzled as to why. It also has the associations of those treasure Independence Days and the Republic Days in school and collegeI made it a point to not miss any. And I still remember a August 15th almost a decade ago when Nana was the chief guest and there was a power failure, and he gave an impassioned talk to take things into your own hands,that we were the change bearers. Vivid!

Leave a Reply

